Beginning Readers

I Am a Super Girl!: An Acorn Book (Princess Truly #1)

I Am a Super Girl!: An Acorn Book (Princess Truly #1)

$4.99
More Info
Princess Truly to the rescue!

Pick a book. Grow a Reader!

This series is part of Scholastic's early reader line, Acorn, aimed at children who are learning to read. With easy-to-read text, a short-story format, plenty of humor, and full-color artwork on every page, these books will boost reading confidence and fluency. Acorn books plant a love of reading and help readers grow!

Meet Princess Truly! With the help of her rocket boots and her magical, sparkly curls, she becomes a super girl and uses her smarts and strength to save the day. But when her friend Lizzie has a rescue mission of her own, Lizzie doesn't feel so super. Can Truly help her friend believe in herself and find her confidence? These rhyming, funny, and empowering stories with full-color artwork and easy-to-read text throughout are perfect for new readers!

I Can Build It!: An Acorn Book (Princess Truly #3)

I Can Build It!: An Acorn Book (Princess Truly #3)

$4.99
More Info
Dream BIG with Princess Truly, in this rhyming early reader perfect for fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer!

Pick a book. Grow a Reader!

This series is part of Scholastic's early reader line, Acorn, aimed at children who are learning to read. With easy-to-read text, a short-story format, plenty of humor, and full-color artwork on every page, these books will boost reading confidence and fluency. Acorn books plant a love of reading and help readers grow!

Princess Truly is a great inventor! With her magic, sparkling curls, she can build anything from a Brushy-Brush machine to a super-cool, turbo-boosted racing bike for her little brother. But when Truly and her sidekick pug Sir Noodles discover that the animal shelter is all out of treats, it's time for their biggest invention yet... the Super Snack Machine! These rhyming, funny, and empowering short stories with full-color artwork and easy-to-read text throughout are perfect for new readers!

Katie Woo Has the Flu

Katie Woo Has the Flu

$5.95
More Info
It all starts with a sneeze! Katie Woo catches the flu. She feels yucky and has to miss a few days of school. Will she ever feel like herself again?
Liam and the Forest Friends

Liam and the Forest Friends

$6.99
More Info
When Liam hears his parents having an argument, he escapes into an imaginary world with animal friends he has drawn. His new friends help Liam understand that even when things feel out of his control, he is always safe, always loved, and a brighter day is just ahead. K-3 readers will find a friend in this series featuring quiet but strong Indigenous third-grader Liam Kingbird.
Liam the Lion

Liam the Lion

$6.99
More Info
Liam is starting at a new school, and he is worried about making new friends. When a classmate asks about Liam's cleft lip, Liam is afraid the boy is making fun of him. But in class that afternoon, Liam discovers that what makes him different also makes him special, and that is a reason to be proud. K-3 readers will find a friend in this series featuring quiet but strong Indigenous third-grader Liam Kingbird.
Look  Out  For  Pirates!  (Beginner  Books)
Look  Out  For  Pirates!  (Beginner  Books)
Look  Out  For  Pirates!  (Beginner  Books)
Look  Out  For  Pirates!  (Beginner  Books)

Look Out For Pirates! (Beginner Books)

$195.00
More Info

1st edition, with "H" type dust jacket (see: https://1stedition.net/beginnerbooks/identifying1steditionbeginnerbooks....); dust jacket in protective cover; light shelf wear and creasing to head and heel of spine; flap unclipped; pictorial covers; corners lightly bumped; illustrated endpapers; binding good; text clean and bright. VG/VG

Play Ball, Amelia Bedelia (1st edition) (USED)

Play Ball, Amelia Bedelia (1st edition)

$95.00
More Info

Guess who's at bat? The lovable, hilarious Amelia Bedelia is back, filling in for a sick player on the Grizzlies baseball team. Watch out! Because nobody plays ball like Amelia Bedelia.

"No child can resist Amelia [Bedelia] and her literal trips through the minefield of the English language—and no adult can fail to notice that she's usually right when she's wrong."—The New York Times Book Review

New York: Harper & Row, 1972. 1st edition. Dust jacket in protective cover; front flap clipped at bottom; pictorial covers; former owner's name in ink on pastedown; binding good; text clean. VG/VG

Poppleton Every Day: An Acorn Book (Poppleton #3)

Poppleton Every Day: An Acorn Book (Poppleton #3)

$4.99
More Info
Every day is an adventure with Poppleton, the posh and persnickety pig created by Newbery Medalist Cynthia Rylant and acclaimed illustrator Mark Teague!

Pick a book. Grow a Reader!This series is part of Scholastic's early reader line, Acorn, aimed at children who are learning to read. With easy-to-read text, a short-story format, plenty of humor, and full-color artwork on every page, these books will boost reading confidence and fluency. Acorn books plant a love of reading and help readers grow!Poppleton has great adventures every day! He stargazes with his friend Hudson. He goes shopping for a new bed. And he even goes sailing with his friend Fillmore!This Acorn edition contains brand-new content, including how-to-draw pages!
Poppleton: An Acorn Book (Poppleton #1)

Poppleton: An Acorn Book (Poppleton #1)

$4.99
More Info
From Newbery Medalist Cynthia Rylant and acclaimed illustrator Mark Teague comes Poppleton, a posh and persnickety pig with friends and adventure abound!

Pick a book. Grow a Reader!This series is part of Scholastic's early reader line, Acorn, aimed at children who are learning to read. With easy-to-read text, a short-story format, plenty of humor, and full-color artwork on every page, these books will boost reading confidence and fluency. Acorn books plant a love of reading and help readers grow!Meet Poppleton -- he's the new pig in town! He makes friends with his new neighbor, Cherry Sue. He goes to the library every Monday to read adventure stories. And he helps his friend Fillmore take his medicine when he is sick. This Acorn edition contains brand-new content, including story prompts and how-to-draw pages!
Rock Star

Rock Star

$6.99
More Info
Fans of Princess Posey and Ivy and Bean will enjoy engaging with science-loving Jada Jones in this easy-to-read chapter book.

When Jada Jones's best friend moves away, school feels like the last place she wants to be. She'd much rather wander outside looking for cool rocks to add to her collection, since finding rocks is much easier than finding friends. So when Jada's teacher announces a class project on rocks and minerals, Jada finally feels like she's in her element. The only problem: one of her teammates doesn't seem to like any of Jada's ideas. She doesn't seem to like Jada all that much, either. Can Jada figure out a way to make a winning science project and a new friend?

The early chapter book bridges between leveled readers and chapter books for fluent readers adjusting to the chapter book format. At about 5,000 words, with short chapters and two-color art on almost every page, it will appeal to this unique reader. The two-color art throughout will help readers transition from the familiar four-color art of leveled readers and ease them into black-and-white chapter books.