Multi-cultural Kids

A Is for Ambitious

A Is for Ambitious

$18.99
More Info
The awesome, bold, charming, and decidedly ambitious new picture book by the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Ambitious Girl, Meena Harris, is also a must-have ABC book.

The #1 bestselling team behind Ambitious Girl is back to take AG on a new adventure. A is for ambitious--and so much more in this fun and empowering picture book that reclaims words often used to undermine girls and women from A to Z. When they're ready to take on the world, ambitious readers will have the vocabulary to do so.

This book offers ambitious children everywhere inspiration as they pursue their goals and dreams. With a powerful message for us all, this is a perfect read aloud for showing children the power of words.

A Song for Gwendolyn Brooks

A Song for Gwendolyn Brooks

$16.95
More Info
"A stirring, accessible introduction to Gwendolyn Brooks and a must-have for all elementary collections." --School Library Journal (Starred review)
"The combination of biography and Brooks' own poems makes for a strong, useful, and beautiful text . . . A solid introduction to a brilliant writer"--Kirkus.

Acclaimed writer Alice Faye Duncan tells the story of poet Gwendolyn Brooks, the first Black author to win the Pulitzer Prize.

SING a song for Gwendolyn Brooks.


Sing it loud--a Chicago blues.

With a voice both wise and witty, Gwendolyn Brooks crafted poems that captured the urban Black experience and the role of women in society. She grew up on the South Side of Chicago, reading and writing constantly from a young age, her talent lovingly nurtured by her parents. Brooks ultimately published 20 books of poetry, two autobiographies, and one novel. Alice Faye Duncan has created her own song to celebrate Gwendolyn's life and work, illuminating the tireless struggle of revision and the sweet reward of success.

Included on the Chicago Public Libraries list of Best Informational Books for Young Readers.

Baby Aretha: A Book about Girl Power

Baby Aretha: A Book about Girl Power

$9.99
More Info
Introduce your littlest rocker to early concepts through the empowering words and look of Aretha Franklin in this fun and entertaining book that is perfect for the next generation of music lovers.

Every Girl Deserves Respect! Strength. Love. Hope. Smarts. Celebrate the iconic Queen of Soul, Aretha Franklin, with little ones in this colorful, playful, and inspiring new board book in the Baby Rocker series. The theme of girl empowerment runs throughout this delightful and aspirational board book for rock and soul fans big and small.

Be Boy Buzz

Be Boy Buzz

$8.99
More Info
From legendary author and critic bell hooks and multi-Caldecott Medalist Chris Raschka comes an acclaimed ode to Black boy joy, perfect for fans of I Am Every Good Thing and I Am Enough.
I be boy. All bliss boy. All fine beat. All beau boy. Beautiful.
Here a tight, exuberant story from two award-winning creators that captures the essence and energy of what it means to be a boy. Chris Raschka's soulful illustrations buzz with a force that is the perfect match for bell hooks' powerful words.
Praise for Be Boy Buzz: *"This spare, poetic riff on young manhood plumbs the delights and contradictions of what it means to be a boy... Hooks's rhythmic blend of brevity and eloquence launches Raschka's trademark visual haiku... This life-affirming book will have readers as much 'in love with being a boy' as are its own utterly irresistible characters."
---Publishers Weekly, starred review

Big Apple

$12.99
More Info
Blue

Blue

$18.99
More Info
Discover a world of creativity and tradition in this fascinating picture book that explores the history and cultural significance of the color blue. From a critically acclaimed author and an award-winning illustrator comes a vivid, gorgeous book for readers of all ages.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR - New York Public Library - Chicago Public Library - Kirkus Reviews

For centuries, blue powders and dyes were some of the most sought-after materials in the world. Ancient Afghan painters ground mass quantities of sapphire rocks to use for their paints, while snails were harvested in Eurasia for the tiny amounts of blue that their bodies would release.

And then there was indigo, which was so valuable that American plantations grew it as a cash crop on the backs of African slaves. It wasn't until 1905, when Adolf von Baeyer created a chemical blue dye, that blue could be used for anything and everything--most notably that uniform of workers everywhere, blue jeans.

Nana Ekua Brew-Hammond's riveting text combined with stunning illustrations from Caldecott Honor Artist Daniel Minter, this vibrant and fascinating picture book follows one color's journey through time and across the world, as it becomes the blue we know today.

Bright Brown Baby

$18.99
More Info
CHOOSING BRAVE: HOW MAMIE TILL

CHOOSING BRAVE: HOW MAMIE TILL

$19.99
More Info

A Caldecott-honor winning picture book biography of the mother of Emmett Till, and how she channeled grief over her son's death into a call to action for the civil rights movement.

Mamie Till-Mobley is the mother of Emmett Till, the 14-year-old boy who was brutally murdered while visiting the South in 1955. His death became a rallying point for the civil rights movement, but few know that it was his mother who was the catalyst for bringing his name to the forefront of history.

In Choosing Brave, Angela Joy and Janelle Washington offer a testament to the power of love, the bond of motherhood, and one woman's unwavering advocacy for justice. It is a poised, moving work about a woman who refocused her unimaginable grief into action for the greater good. Mamie fearlessly refused to allow America to turn away from what happened to her only child. She turned pain into change that ensured her son's life mattered.

Timely, powerful, and beautifully told, this thorough and moving story has been masterfully crafted to be both comprehensive and suitable for younger readers.

Civil Rights (Super SHEroes of History)

Civil Rights (Super SHEroes of History)

$7.99
More Info
Meet the Super SHEroes of History, the women who have shaped history and society since ancient times.

From the first attempts to end slavery in the 1800s to the Civil Rights Movement of the 1950s and 1960s, women were in the forefront of the struggle to achieve equality for Black Americans. Rosa Parks in Montgomery and Viola Desmond in Canada both sparked effective mass movements that led to change, while other women led the way in educating Black voters and organizing protests such as lunch-counter sit-ins and the Freedom Rides. As soon as they could, Black women played an active role in local, state, and federal government, paving the way for more women of color than ever to sit in the U.S. Congress. This book tells the stories of the pioneers who made this possible.

ABOUT THE SERIES:

From leading warriors into battle in Tang China to fighting for Civil Rights, exploring the deserts of Asia, and standing up for Indigenous peoples around the world, women have shaped history and society since ancient times. Often, however, their achievements went unrecognized. With lively text, compelling photography, and art, Super SHEroes of History brings herstory to life, illuminating the achievements of remarkable women from all backgrounds and all periods of time. The aim of this four-book series is to bring their inspiring stories to young readers -- and to use engaging interactive prompts and questions to persuade them that anyone can grow up to change the world!

Cookies & Milk

Cookies & Milk

$16.99
More Info
WINNER OF THE NAACP IMAGE AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING LITERARY WORK--YOUTH/TEENS!

It's a summer of family, friendship, and fun fiascos in this acclaimed novel that's as irresistible as a fresh-baked cookie.

Ellis Bailey Johnson has the summertime blues. Instead of hanging out with friends, listening to music, and playing his harmonica, Ellis has to help bring his dad's latest farfetched, sure-to-fail idea to life: open the world's first chocolate chip cookie store.

They have six weeks to perfect their recipe, get a run-down A-frame storefront on Hollywood's Sunset Boulevard into tip-top shape, and bring in customers. But nothing goes according to plan, especially when family secrets start to surface. Can Ellis bake up a happy ending?

Partially based on Shawn Amos's own experiences growing up the son of Wally "Famous" Amos, and packed with humor, heart, and fun illustrations, this debut novel sings with the joy of self-discovery, unconditional love, and community.

"Shawn Amos has written a beautiful story of family and music, of growing up and having adventures, of business building and character building, that is at once very specific and universal. I love Cookies and Milk as much as I love cookies and milk." -Lisa See, New York Times bestselling and award winning author of Snow Flower and the Secret Fan and Shanghai Girls

**Don't miss Ellis's next adventure: Ellis Johnson Might Be Famous