Multi-cultural Kids

A Song for Gwendolyn Brooks

A Song for Gwendolyn Brooks

$16.95
More Info
"A stirring, accessible introduction to Gwendolyn Brooks and a must-have for all elementary collections." --School Library Journal (Starred review)
"The combination of biography and Brooks' own poems makes for a strong, useful, and beautiful text . . . A solid introduction to a brilliant writer"--Kirkus.

Acclaimed writer Alice Faye Duncan tells the story of poet Gwendolyn Brooks, the first Black author to win the Pulitzer Prize.

SING a song for Gwendolyn Brooks.


Sing it loud--a Chicago blues.

With a voice both wise and witty, Gwendolyn Brooks crafted poems that captured the urban Black experience and the role of women in society. She grew up on the South Side of Chicago, reading and writing constantly from a young age, her talent lovingly nurtured by her parents. Brooks ultimately published 20 books of poetry, two autobiographies, and one novel. Alice Faye Duncan has created her own song to celebrate Gwendolyn's life and work, illuminating the tireless struggle of revision and the sweet reward of success.

Included on the Chicago Public Libraries list of Best Informational Books for Young Readers.

Big Apple

$12.99
More Info

Bright Brown Baby

$18.99
More Info
Double Bass Blues

Double Bass Blues

$17.99
More Info
A Caldecott Honor Book! A joyous celebration of family, community, and the unifying power of music, perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street.

Nic is an aspiring musician whose life spans two different worlds--his suburban school where he wows his friends in orchestra, and the busy city streets of his home where he's jostled by the crowd. Nic makes his way home from a busy day at school with a double bass on his back, the symphony of his surroundings in his heart, and a sweet surprise for the reader at the end of his journey. This is a sweet, melodious picture book about how dedication, music, and family can overcome any obstacle.

ELLINGTON WAS NOT A STREET

ELLINGTON WAS NOT A STREET

$19.99
More Info
Featuring luminous art by Coretta Scott King Award-winning illustrator Kadir Nelson, this reflective picture book by poet Ntozake Shange looks back at the great Black thinkers and innovators who visited her father's house.

A close-knit group of Black innovators formed their own community in the early to mid-twentieth century. These men of vision lived at a time when the color of their skin dictated where they could live, what schools they could attend, and even where they could sit on a bus or in a movie theater.

Yet in the face of this tremendous adversity, these dedicated souls and others like them not only demonstrated the importance of Black culture in America, but also helped issue in a movement that changed the world. Their lives and their works inspire us to this day and serve as a guide to how we approach the challenges of tomorrow.

Hair Love

Hair Love

$17.99
More Info
A New York Times Bestseller and tie-in to Academy-Award Winning Short Film Hair Love

I love that Hair Love is highlighting the relationship between a Black father and daughter. Matthew leads the ranks of new creatives who are telling unique stories of the Black experience. We need this.
- Jordan Peele, Actor & Filmmaker

It's up to Daddy to give his daughter an extra-special hair style in this ode to self-confidence and the love between fathers and daughters, from Academy-Award winning director and former NFL wide receiver Matthew A. Cherry and New York Times bestselling illustrator Vashti Harrison.

Zuri's hair has a mind of its own. It kinks, coils, and curls every which way. Zuri knows it's beautiful. When Daddy steps in to style it for an extra special occasion, he has a lot to learn. But he LOVES his Zuri, and he'll do anything to make her -- and her hair -- happy.

Tender and empowering, Hair Love is an ode to loving your natural hair -- and a celebration of daddies and daughters everywhere. A perfect gift for special occasions including Father's Day, birthdays, baby showers, and more!

product image

Junko Tabei Masters the Mountains

$12.99
More Info
From the world of Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls comes the historical novel based on the life of Junko Tabei, the first female climber to summit Mount Everest.

Junko is bad at athletics. Really bad. Other students laugh because they think she is small and weak. Then her teacher takes the class on a trip to a mountain. It's bigger than any Junko's ever seen, but she is determined to make it to the top. Ganbatte, her teacher tells her. Do your best.

After that first trip, Junko becomes a mountaineer in body and spirit. She climbs snowy mountains, rocky mountains, and even faraway mountains outside of her home country of Japan. She joins clubs and befriends fellow climbers who love the mountains as much as she does. Then, Junko does something that's never been done before... she becomes the first woman to climb the tallest mountain in the world.

Junko Tabei Masters the Mountains is the story of the first woman to climb Mount Everest. Even more than that, it's a story about conquering fears, personal growth, and never shying away from a challenge.

This historical fiction chapter book includes additional text on Junko Tabei's lasting legacy, as well as educational activities designed to strengthen physical skills and conquer fears.

About the Rebel Girls Chapter Book Series
Meet extraordinary real-life heroines in the Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls chapter book series! Introducing stories based on the lives of extraordinary women in global history, each stunningly designed chapter book features beautiful illustrations from a female artist as well as bonus activities in the backmatter to encourage kids to explore the various fields in which each of these women thrived. The perfect gift to inspire any young reader!

product image

Little Guides to Great Lives: Nelson Mandela

$11.99
More Info
Anti-apartheid revolutionary, politician, and philanthropist, Nelson Mandela's journey from political prisoner to president of South Africa is an incredible tale of triumph in the face of adversity. 2018 marks a hundred years since his birth.

From artists to aviators and scientists to revolutionaries, Little Guides to Great Lives is a brand new series of small-format guides introducing children to the most inspirational figures from history in a fun, accessible way. Launching with Leonardo da Vinci, Marie Curie, Nelson Mandela, and Amelia Earhart, Little Guides to Great Lives tells the stories of the most amazing people from all over the world and across history, with full-color illustrations and fresh design to bring their incredible stories to life.

Maya Angelou

Maya Angelou

$11.99
More Info
This Maya Angelou children's book is a perfect introduction to one of the world's most famous writers.

Maya Angelou was an African-American author, poet, playwright and civil rights activist. She wrote seven autobiographies, three books of essays, several books of poetry, and a long list of plays, films and television shows. Never taking 'No' for an answer, Maya used her voice and her art to overcome prejudice and difficulty and to become an inspiration to those around her and to future generations.

Her story is a rich and remarkable one - a tale filled with strength, hardship and hope. Maya learned the importance of using her own voice to help others and change the world!

Maya Angelou is part of the small format, collectible Little Guides to Great Lives series for children aged 7 and above.

A perfect gift for fans of the Little People, Big Dreams or Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls books.

Praise for Little Guides to Great Lives:

"If you're looking to inspire your children to aim high and think big, the Little Guides to Great Lives series is the perfect place to start. The stories that the books convey tell kids that there is no limit to what they can aim for. These biographies will pique the interest of any young child who is already dreaming of their future." - GeekDad

"Featuring timelines, glossaries, approachable text and striking illustrations, the biographies bring these important individuals to brilliant life." - Shelf Awareness

Other books in the Little Guides to Great Lives series:
Amelia Earhart
Anne Frank
Charles Darwin
Ferdinand Magellan
Frida Kahlo
Leonardo Da Vinci
Nelson Mandela
Stephen Hawking

Merci Suarez Changes Gears

Merci Suarez Changes Gears

$16.99
More Info
Winner of the Newbery Medal
A New York Times Bestseller

Thoughtful, strong-willed sixth-grader Merci Suarez navigates difficult changes with friends, family, and everyone in between in a resonant new novel from Meg Medina.

Merci Suarez knew that sixth grade would be different, but she had no idea just how different. For starters, Merci has never been like the other kids at her private school in Florida, because she and her older brother, Roli, are scholarship students. They don't have a big house or a fancy boat, and they have to do extra community service to make up for their free tuition. So when bossy Edna Santos sets her sights on the new boy who happens to be Merci's school-assigned Sunshine Buddy, Merci becomes the target of Edna's jealousy. Things aren't going well at home, either: Merci's grandfather and most trusted ally, Lolo, has been acting strangely lately -- forgetting important things, falling from his bike, and getting angry over nothing. No one in her family will tell Merci what's going on, so she's left to her own worries, while also feeling all on her own at school. In a coming-of-age tale full of humor and wisdom, award-winning author Meg Medina gets to the heart of the confusion and constant change that defines middle school -- and the steadfast connection that defines family.