Local Authors

New to Cleveland

New to Cleveland

$29.99
$29.99
More Info
Whether you're new to town or a longtime resident, New to Cleveland is your complete guide to exploring the city. Inside you'll find: * Descriptions and walking tours, with maps, of 12 Cleveland neighborhoods (and Lakewood and Cleveland Heights); * Listings of restaurants, cafés, stores and cultural institutions; * Advice on where to send your kids to school; * Insights on the Cleveland real estate market, and help deciding whether to rent or buy; * The best neighborhoods for students, artists, professionals, retirees and those who want to live car-free or car-light; * And the answer to the age-old question, Can I live in a cool old industrial building? With more than 50 illustrations by local artist Julia Kuo, and text by writer and urban planner Justin Glanville, New to Cleveland will have you looking at the city with fresh eyes even if you've never lived anywhere else. 100% Local! Written, designed and printed in the City of Cleveland
Nhl's Mistake by the Lake: A History of the Cleveland Barons

Nhl's Mistake by the Lake: A History of the Cleveland Barons

$35.00
More Info
The Cleveland Barons should never have existed. Born when the National Hockey League's California Golden Seals--another team that should never have existed--were transplanted to Cleveland in 1976 and greeted with apathy by the dwindling number of hockey fans in northeastern Ohio, the Barons were an embarrassment to the city and to the NHL. The only thing the team had going for them was the state-of-the-art arena they played in, which was all but empty for nearly every game they played. This book chronicles the Barons' two regrettable seasons--a case study in what happens when an ill-conceived professional sports team created in an expansion splurge is moved, in an effort to save it, to a city that doesn't really want it.
Night Shift at Tamaqua

Night Shift at Tamaqua

$14.99
More Info

Literary Fiction. Lance Miller and Ellen Kostopoulou don’t have much in common, but they’re both awake between two and five in the morning. Lance is a Postmates delivery guy with a broken down car, and during the day, he lives alone with his five dogs, insecure that he’s one of the few Jewish people in Tamaqua. Ellen is an overworked graveyard shift waitress and an insomniac wracked with guilt over the fact that she didn’t complete her education. One night, Ellen offers Lance a ride. From there, two night owl misfits discover they each can offer the other something to heal their wounds and ease their loneliness. Night Shift in Tamaqua is their relationship, which spans from late-night blue raspberry Slurpees to fasting on Yom Kippur. This is a book for anyone who’s ever stayed up too late, but with thirteen original paintings by Coyote Jacobs accompanying the story, it will resonate any time of day.

Emma Riva is a novelist and fine arts journalist who has been writing for as long as she can remember. Her first “novel” was a tale dictated to her father about a tiger in her washing machine at age two. She is a graduate of The New School, and her fiction has received accolades from the UK-based Wilbur and Niso Smith Foundation and Rainy Day, Cornell University's literary magazine. Her reporting on Washington Heights graffiti legends, Brooklyn's first Hasidic art gallery, and murals from Miami to Chattanooga appears online in UP Magazine - she recently covered Cleveland's own Graffiti HeArt gallery on Superior Avenue. She lives in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. 

Nightmare.

Nightmare.

$9.99
More Info
No Beard or Bowtie Required: Cocktails for the Craft-Curious

No Beard or Bowtie Required: Cocktails for the Craft-Curious

$34.95
More Info

No Beard or Bowtie Required - Cocktails for the Craft Curious chronicles the drinksmithing career of Tim Harnett, who began as a budding home mixologist that evolved into a well-recognized professional mixologist. Along the way, he discovered that a groomed beard and proper silk bowtie were helpful traits for the trade. But it also struck him that anyone can follow the same learning path without the sartorial wardrobe.


This book compacts a great deal of bartending acumen into a modest 140 pages. It covers the essential tools, skills and spirits you'll need to bartend properly at home. It also provides nearly 90 of Harnett's signature cocktail recipes with dazzling photography of each drink. The book begins with simpler drink builds and riffs on classics that marked the early days of his bar career. Reading forward, you'll discover more complex creations devoted to specific spirits, and cocktail genres such as tiki.


No Beard will help you hurdle some common missteps in home bartending, and also teach you some simple syrup and spirit infusion recipes that provide the building blocks of great cocktails. Admittedly, it also contains more curse words than your average cocktail book. But honestly, who doesn't swear?

No Good Tea Goes Unpunished

No Good Tea Goes Unpunished

$12.99
More Info

In the second book of the popular Seaside Café Mysteries, No Good Tea Goes Unpunished, Everly Swan caters a high-profile beach wedding where the groom doesn't make it to the altar before the wedding bells ring.

Hitting All the sweet-tea spots, this series is:

  • A delightful Tea Shop and Café Culinary Mystery
  • The ideal cozy beach read
  • Perfect for fans of Laura Childs and Kate Carlisle
  • Catering her childhood friend's beachfront wedding was a dream come true for Sun, Sand and Tea Shop and Café owner Everly Swan--and the hundreds of guests in attendance would be great exposure for her new business. But when the well-to-do groom is found floating facedown in the surf, the coastal vibes of a beach wedding disappear and the locals of Charm, North Carolina turn their suspicions to his new bride. Could she have been so desperate to lay her hands on his fortune that she arranged for his murder before they even set off on their honeymoon?

    Everly knows her love-struck friend couldn't be behind the murder, but with clues pointing in several directions, she can't decide which wedding guest is the most likely culprit. Meanwhile, the frustratingly handsome Detective Hays has made it clear that Everly should stay out of the investigation altogether. But with a killer on the loose and a feeling that someone is watching her café very closely, Everly knows that if she can't solve this murder soon, her cake might be iced for good. This new addition to Bree Baker's cozy mysteries will keep you coming back for more!

    INCLUDES DELICIOUS FOOD AND DRINK RECIPES

    No Life But This: A Novel of Emily Warren Roebling

    No Life But This: A Novel of Emily Warren Roebling

    $21.99
    More Info

    No Life But This: A Novel of Emily Warren Roebling, is based on the life of Emily Roebling, considered to be the first woman field engineer, and highly instrumental in the building of the Brooklyn Bridge. It is the perfect time to bring this remarkable woman's story to light in an era when women continue to fight for equality and to be included in STEM careers.


    Emily Roebling became a liaison for her husband, chief engineer of the Brooklyn Bridge, when he fell ill in 1869. Gifted in math and science, she participated in all aspects of the construction. After the bridge she went on to stunning achievements of her own, attending law school, and traveling the world as an outspoken feminist and writer.

    No One Can Pronounce My Name

    No One Can Pronounce My Name

    $26.00
    More Info

    One of Goodreads' Best Books of the Month (May 2017)
    One of BuzzFeed's 31 Incredible New Books You Need to Read This Spring
    One of The Millions' Most Anticipated Books of the Year

    A HUMOROUS AND TENDER MULTIGENERATIONAL NOVEL ABOUT IMMIGRANTS AND OUTSIDERS--THOSE TRYING TO FIND THEIR PLACE IN AMERICAN SOCIETY AND WITHIN THEIR OWN FAMILIES

    In a suburb outside Cleveland, a community of Indian Americans has settled into lives that straddle the divide between Eastern and Western cultures. For some, America is a bewildering and alienating place where coworkers can't pronounce your name but will eagerly repeat the Sanskrit phrases from their yoga class. Harit, a lonely Indian immigrant in his mid forties, lives with his mother who can no longer function after the death of Harit's sister, Swati. In a misguided attempt to keep both himself and his mother sane, Harit has taken to dressing up in a sari every night to pass himself off as his sister. Meanwhile, Ranjana, also an Indian immigrant in her mid forties, has just seen her only child, Prashant, off to college. Worried that her husband has begun an affair, she seeks solace by writing paranormal romances in secret. When Harit and Ranjana's paths cross, they begin a strange yet necessary friendship that brings to light their own passions and fears.

    Rakesh Satyal's No One Can Pronounce My Name is a distinctive, funny, and insightful look into the lives of people who must reconcile the strictures of their culture and traditions with their own dreams and desires.

    Obscura

    Obscura

    $10.00
    More Info
    In his long-anticipated third poetry collection, Frank Paino sheds his singular light on the most obscure corners of history and human nature, assembling a hagiography of unorthodox saints. Paino's poems teach us to look deeply at the unsettling realities from which we instinctually look away-and they show us the rich rewards of beauty and wisdom we can gain by doing so.

    Offered Magic: My Life Amond the Unicorns

    $12.95
    More Info