Local Authors

My Friend Dahmer

My Friend Dahmer

$19.99
More Info
The bone-chilling graphic novel that inspired the major motion picture starring Ross Lynch as Jeffrey Dahmer.

NATIONAL BESTSELLER
2013 ALA/YALSA Alex Award
2014 Revelation Award at Angoulême
2015 ALA/YALSA Alex Award (Excellence in Narrative Nonfiction)

Named a BEST OF 2012 by Time, The Village Voice, A.V. Club, comiXology, Boing Boing, Publishers Weekly, MTV Geek, and more!

You only think you know this story. In 1991, Jeffrey Dahmer--the most notorious serial killer since Jack the Ripper--seared himself into the American consciousness. To the public, Dahmer was a monster who committed unthinkable atrocities. To Derf Backderf, "Jeff" was a much more complex figure: a high school friend with whom he had shared classrooms, hallways, and car rides. In My Friend Dahmer, a haunting and original graphic novel, writer-artist Backderf creates a surprisingly sympathetic portrait of a disturbed young man struggling against the morbid urges emanating from the deep recesses of his psyche--a shy kid, a teenage alcoholic, and a goofball who never quite fit in with his classmates. With profound insight, what emerges is a Jeffrey Dahmer that few ever really knew, and one readers will never forget.

Also available by Derf Backderf, Trashed.

Find teaching guides for My Friend Dahmer and other titles at abramsbooks.com/resources.

Mysterious Tales of the Unexplained: Volume I

Mysterious Tales of the Unexplained: Volume I

$18.95
More Info

Singing specters, secret passageways, unsolved clues, abandoned mansions, old photo albums and hidden motives are all found in the four stories making up this unique collection, Mysterious Tales of the Unexplained. A young sleuth solves a mystery surrounding a creepy, community theatre in Break A Leg & Knock 'Em Dead. She then goes on to investigate the apparent suicide of a wealthy factory owner in House up on the Hill. In Picture on the Wall, a mother/daughter restoration team experience ghostly encounters in an old, abandoned mansion. And six young friends go on a mystery weekend at a spooky inn, deciphering clues and exploring the mysterious property, only to find much more going on than they thought.

Nadir's Fire

$14.95
More Info
Narrative of The Life of Theresa: A Memoir of Marriage

Narrative of The Life of Theresa: A Memoir of Marriage

$16.99
More Info

A book of fiction, but a painfully true story for far too many women and especially African American women!

Will Theresa Carter, a Christian woman who is accomplished in her professional life, finally live out the biblical principles concerning love, sex, and marriage that she claims to embrace? She looks the part, but will she be the part? Her story might change the trajectory of your own life story as you develop a relationship with this woman who desires to be all that God called her to be - like so many Christian women.

"You are not your own, you were bought with a price. So, glorify God in your body."

New to Cleveland

New to Cleveland

$29.99
$29.99
More Info
Whether you're new to town or a longtime resident, New to Cleveland is your complete guide to exploring the city. Inside you'll find: * Descriptions and walking tours, with maps, of 12 Cleveland neighborhoods (and Lakewood and Cleveland Heights); * Listings of restaurants, cafés, stores and cultural institutions; * Advice on where to send your kids to school; * Insights on the Cleveland real estate market, and help deciding whether to rent or buy; * The best neighborhoods for students, artists, professionals, retirees and those who want to live car-free or car-light; * And the answer to the age-old question, Can I live in a cool old industrial building? With more than 50 illustrations by local artist Julia Kuo, and text by writer and urban planner Justin Glanville, New to Cleveland will have you looking at the city with fresh eyes even if you've never lived anywhere else. 100% Local! Written, designed and printed in the City of Cleveland
Nhl's Mistake by the Lake: A History of the Cleveland Barons

Nhl's Mistake by the Lake: A History of the Cleveland Barons

$35.00
More Info
The Cleveland Barons should never have existed. Born when the National Hockey League's California Golden Seals--another team that should never have existed--were transplanted to Cleveland in 1976 and greeted with apathy by the dwindling number of hockey fans in northeastern Ohio, the Barons were an embarrassment to the city and to the NHL. The only thing the team had going for them was the state-of-the-art arena they played in, which was all but empty for nearly every game they played. This book chronicles the Barons' two regrettable seasons--a case study in what happens when an ill-conceived professional sports team created in an expansion splurge is moved, in an effort to save it, to a city that doesn't really want it.
Night Shift at Tamaqua

Night Shift at Tamaqua

$14.99
More Info

Literary Fiction. Lance Miller and Ellen Kostopoulou don’t have much in common, but they’re both awake between two and five in the morning. Lance is a Postmates delivery guy with a broken down car, and during the day, he lives alone with his five dogs, insecure that he’s one of the few Jewish people in Tamaqua. Ellen is an overworked graveyard shift waitress and an insomniac wracked with guilt over the fact that she didn’t complete her education. One night, Ellen offers Lance a ride. From there, two night owl misfits discover they each can offer the other something to heal their wounds and ease their loneliness. Night Shift in Tamaqua is their relationship, which spans from late-night blue raspberry Slurpees to fasting on Yom Kippur. This is a book for anyone who’s ever stayed up too late, but with thirteen original paintings by Coyote Jacobs accompanying the story, it will resonate any time of day.

Emma Riva is a novelist and fine arts journalist who has been writing for as long as she can remember. Her first “novel” was a tale dictated to her father about a tiger in her washing machine at age two. She is a graduate of The New School, and her fiction has received accolades from the UK-based Wilbur and Niso Smith Foundation and Rainy Day, Cornell University's literary magazine. Her reporting on Washington Heights graffiti legends, Brooklyn's first Hasidic art gallery, and murals from Miami to Chattanooga appears online in UP Magazine - she recently covered Cleveland's own Graffiti HeArt gallery on Superior Avenue. She lives in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. 

Nightmare.

Nightmare.

$9.99
More Info
No Beard or Bowtie Required: Cocktails for the Craft-Curious

No Beard or Bowtie Required: Cocktails for the Craft-Curious

$34.95
More Info

No Beard or Bowtie Required - Cocktails for the Craft Curious chronicles the drinksmithing career of Tim Harnett, who began as a budding home mixologist that evolved into a well-recognized professional mixologist. Along the way, he discovered that a groomed beard and proper silk bowtie were helpful traits for the trade. But it also struck him that anyone can follow the same learning path without the sartorial wardrobe.


This book compacts a great deal of bartending acumen into a modest 140 pages. It covers the essential tools, skills and spirits you'll need to bartend properly at home. It also provides nearly 90 of Harnett's signature cocktail recipes with dazzling photography of each drink. The book begins with simpler drink builds and riffs on classics that marked the early days of his bar career. Reading forward, you'll discover more complex creations devoted to specific spirits, and cocktail genres such as tiki.


No Beard will help you hurdle some common missteps in home bartending, and also teach you some simple syrup and spirit infusion recipes that provide the building blocks of great cocktails. Admittedly, it also contains more curse words than your average cocktail book. But honestly, who doesn't swear?

No Good Tea Goes Unpunished

No Good Tea Goes Unpunished

$12.99
More Info

In the second book of the popular Seaside Café Mysteries, No Good Tea Goes Unpunished, Everly Swan caters a high-profile beach wedding where the groom doesn't make it to the altar before the wedding bells ring.

Hitting All the sweet-tea spots, this series is:

  • A delightful Tea Shop and Café Culinary Mystery
  • The ideal cozy beach read
  • Perfect for fans of Laura Childs and Kate Carlisle
  • Catering her childhood friend's beachfront wedding was a dream come true for Sun, Sand and Tea Shop and Café owner Everly Swan--and the hundreds of guests in attendance would be great exposure for her new business. But when the well-to-do groom is found floating facedown in the surf, the coastal vibes of a beach wedding disappear and the locals of Charm, North Carolina turn their suspicions to his new bride. Could she have been so desperate to lay her hands on his fortune that she arranged for his murder before they even set off on their honeymoon?

    Everly knows her love-struck friend couldn't be behind the murder, but with clues pointing in several directions, she can't decide which wedding guest is the most likely culprit. Meanwhile, the frustratingly handsome Detective Hays has made it clear that Everly should stay out of the investigation altogether. But with a killer on the loose and a feeling that someone is watching her café very closely, Everly knows that if she can't solve this murder soon, her cake might be iced for good. This new addition to Bree Baker's cozy mysteries will keep you coming back for more!

    INCLUDES DELICIOUS FOOD AND DRINK RECIPES