Local Authors

World We Found

World We Found

$25.99
More Info
Thrity Umrigar, acclaimed author of The Space Between Us and The Weight of Heaven, returns with a breathtaking new novel--a skillfully wrought, emotionally resonant story of four women and the indelible friendship they share. Fans of Jennifer Haigh's Faith, Jhumpa Lahiri's Interpreter of Maladies, and Katrina Kittle's The Kindness of Strangers will be captivated by Umrigar's The World We Found--a moving story of bottled secrets, unfulfilled dreams, and the acceptance that can still lead to redemption, from a writer whom the New York Times calls "perceptive and often piercing."
World We Found

World We Found

$14.99
More Info

"Stunning . . . . This is a novel that rewards reading, and even re-reading. The World We Found is a powerful meditation." --Boston Globe

Thrity Umrigar, acclaimed author of The Space Between Us and The Weight of Heaven, returns with a breathtaking new novel--a skillfully wrought, emotionally resonant story of four women and the indelible friendship they share.

As university students in late 1970s Bombay, Armaiti, Laleh, Kavita, and Nishta were inseparable. Spirited and unconventional, they challenged authority and fought for a better world. But over the past thirty years, the quartet has drifted apart, the day-to-day demands of work and family tempering the revolutionary fervor they once shared.

Then comes devastating news: Armaiti, who moved to America, is gravely ill and wants to see the old friends she left behind. For Laleh, reunion is a bittersweet reminder of unfulfilled dreams and unspoken guilt. For Kavita, it is an admission of forbidden passion. For Nishta, it is the promise of freedom from a bitter, fundamentalist husband. And for Armaiti, it is an act of acceptance, of letting go on her own terms.

The World We Found is a dazzling masterwork from the remarkable Thrity Umrigar, offering an unforgettable portrait of modern India while it explores the enduring bonds of friendship and the power of love to change lives.

Year That Trembled

Year That Trembled

$14.95
More Info

Both a love story and a wartime chronicle, this powerful novel reveals the effects of the Vietnam War on a group of friends living in a small town in Ohio. As the 1970 draft lottery nears, the young men must examine their views of war and consider the fate that awaits them; the young women face the possibility of losing their husbands, boyfriends, and friends. Each member of the group embarks on a personal search that will bring very real and very adult conflict and pain and strip away their youthful naiveté. The enormity of this war contrasted with the microcosm of one small town exposes the ambivalence of characters who are at war with themselves.

You're Gonna Laugh : Over 750 of the Funniest Internet Jokes Ever

You're Gonna Laugh : Over 750 of the Funniest Internet Jokes Ever

$15.99
More Info
A compilation of the funniest internet jokes emailed to, and collected by, the author. A great way to brighten one's day!
You're Gonna Laugh Your Tail Off : Amusing Animal Antics

You're Gonna Laugh Your Tail Off : Amusing Animal Antics

$10.00
More Info
How many dogs does it take to change a lightbulb?

Zombies! Evacuate the School!

$7.95
More Info
Zoody

Zoody

$15.00
More Info

Middle grade fiction. Marcy is in for a ride when she keeps a rock. Little does she know what Zoody the Rock is up to when he goes on one doozy of an adventure come nightfall. He tells all the animated critters his own perspective. Marcy brings out his natural glow which gets noticed.

Age 0-3

Baby Beards!

Baby Beards!

$8.99
More Info

BABY BEARDS is a book that explores the fun and excitement of healthy eating for a toddler. The BIG messes and HUGE smiles bring plenty of photo opportunities. Young children will love the colorful illustrations, rhymes, and trying to find the dog and camera on each page. Parents will love interacting and talking with their child as they read. As an added bonus, parents can add photographs and record eating milestones, making this book one that children will ask to have read OVER and OVER again!

Read Together (Ages 3 and up)

A Wonderful Day!

A Wonderful Day!

$10.99
More Info
A Wonderful Day! is an engaging early reader that playfully depicts the shared experiences of child and parent who are enjoying a day together at the zoo. This unique story is beautifully told in a gender-neutral text that captures many of the special moments children and adults often treasure and share together.
Betwixt & Between A Night in a Dream
Betwixt & Between A Night in a Dream

Betwixt & Between A Night in a Dream

$14.99
More Info

Three culturally-diverse ten-year olds discover a note describing a fantasy world while rummaging in a relative's attic. The Auntie confirms the legitimacy of this world, as she once went there when she was ten-years old. The trio now prepare for their excursion on the Eve of Christmas Eve as excitement mounts for their journey.