Author Biographies

Autobiography

Autobiography

$21.99
More Info

Back in print in the exclusive authorized edition, is the engaging and illuminating chronicle of the life of the "Queen of Mystery." Fans of Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple and readers of John Curran's fascinating biographies Agatha Christie's Secret Notebooks and Murder in the Making will be spellbound by the compelling, authoritative account of one of the world's most influential and fascinating novelists, told in her own words and inimitable style. The New York Times Book Review calls Christie's autobiography a "joyful adventure," saying, "she brings the sense of wonder...to her extraordinary career."

Autobiography:  Some  Notes  on  a  Nonentity

Autobiography: Some Notes on a Nonentity

$225.00
More Info
Printed for Arkham House: Publishers - Sauk City, Wisconsin 1963 by Villiers Publications, Ltd., London. Annotated by August Derleth. Small stapled pamphlet; clean and uncreased. VG
Child of the Century

Child of the Century

$85.00
More Info

Ben Hecht’s critically acclaimed autobiographical memoir offers incomparably pungent evocations of Chicago in the 1910s and 1920s, Hollywood in the 1930s, and New York during the Second World War and after.

1st printing; dust jacket in protective cover; spine creased and rubbed; head of spine chipped with small tears; corners chipped; edges creased and worn; black cloth over green paper; bottom edge worn; endpapers tanned; PON in ink to ffep, also later gift inscription dated 1975; pencil notes from beginning to page 50; binding good. G/G-

Dinner With Tennessee Williams : Recipes and Stories Inspired by America's Southern Playwright

Dinner With Tennessee Williams : Recipes and Stories Inspired by America's Southern Playwright

$9.99
More Info

Like Hemingway to Cuba or Mark Twain to the Mississippi, certain writers are inextricably tied to their environments-the culture, the history, the people, the cuisine. The plays of Tennessee Williams evoke the ambiance and flavor of the South. Part food memoir and part cookbook, this fresh look at the world of this great American playwright-both in real life and in his plays-is the perfect book for literary lovers and food lovers alike.

Each chapter is based on one of Williams' plays and includes a short essay on food references within that play; highlighted food related quotes from the dialogue; a menu divined from the play; and archived photographs from Williams' life. With more than 80 recipes, fans will love the 50 full-color and black and white photos that showcase the recipes, locale, and history of this beloved American writer.

Enjoy recipes such as: Chop Suey Soup Pecan-crusted Sweet Potato Pone Baton Aubergines Pork Loin Franchese Smoked Corn and Grilled Pepper Bisque Grilled Ahi Tuna, Pinapple Relish Maw Maw Lola's Fig Preserves

Inspired by Tennessee William's Plays like: A Streetcar Named Desire Cat on a Hot Tin Roof The Glass Menagerie The Rose Tattoo Camino Real Night of the Iguana Battle of Angels

Troy Gilbert is a native of New Orleans and the author of New Orleans Kitchens.

Greg Picolo is a native of New Orleans and the chef of Bistro Maison de Ville, which offers sophisticated cuisine in the Louisiana Creole style.

Dylan Thomas: No Man More Magical

$5.00
More Info
Eat Your Mind: The Radical Life and Work of Kathy Acker

Eat Your Mind: The Radical Life and Work of Kathy Acker

$19.99
More Info
"It's shocking to learn that this is McBride's first book...Eat Your Mind does everything a good biography should and more" --Los Angeles Times

The first full-scale authorized biography of the pioneering experimental novelist Kathy Acker, one of the most original and controversial figures in 20th-century American literature.

Kathy Acker (1947-1997) was a rare and almost inconceivable thing: a celebrity experimental writer. Twenty-five years after her death, she remains one of the most original, shocking, and controversial artists of her era. The author of visionary, transgressive novels like Blood and Guts in High School; Empire of the Senses; and Pussy, King of Pirates, Acker wrote obsessively about the treachery of love, the limitations of language, and the possibility of revolution.

She was notorious for her methods--collaging together texts stolen from other writers with her own diaries, sexual fantasies, and blunt political critique--as well as her appearance. With her punkish hairstyles, tattoos, and couture outfits, she looked like no other writer before or after. Her work was exceptionally prescient, taking up complicated conversations about gender, sex, capitalism, and colonialism that continue today.

Acker's life was as unruly and radical as her writing. Raised in a privileged but oppressive Upper East Side Jewish family, she turned her back on that world as soon as she could, seeking a life of romantic and intellectual adventure that led her to, and through, many of the most thrilling avant-garde and countercultural moments in America: the births of conceptual art and experimental music; the poetry wars of the 60s and 70s; the mainstreaming of hardcore porn; No Wave cinema and New Narrative writing; Riot grrrls, biker chicks, cyberpunks. As this definitive, "sympathetic, studious" (Edmund White, winner of the National Book Foundation Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters) biography shows, Acker was not just a singular writer, she was also a titanic cultural force who tied together disparate movements in literature, art, music, theatre, and film.

A feat of literary biography, Eat Your Mind draws on exclusive interviews with hundreds of Acker's intimates as well as her private journals, correspondence, and early drafts of her work, acclaimed journalist and critic Jason McBride, offers a thrilling account and a long-overdue reassessment of a misunderstood genius and revolutionary artist.

Furious Hours : Murder, Fraud, and the Last Trial of Harper Lee

Furious Hours : Murder, Fraud, and the Last Trial of Harper Lee

$26.95
More Info
ONE OF PRESIDENT BARACK OBAMA'S FAVORITE BOOKS OF 2019

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF 2019 BY Time, LitHub, Vulture, Glamour, O Magazine, Town and Country, Suspense Magazine, Inside Hook

New York Times

Best Seller


"Compelling . . . at once a true-crime thriller, courtroom drama, and miniature biography of Harper Lee. If To Kill a Mockingbird was one of your favorite books growing up, you should add Furious Hours to your reading list today." --Southern Living

Reverend Willie Maxwell was a rural preacher accused of murdering five of his family members for insurance money in the 1970s. With the help of a savvy lawyer, he escaped justice for years until a relative shot him dead at the funeral of his last victim. Despite hundreds of witnesses, Maxwell's murderer was acquitted--thanks to the same attorney who had previously defended the Reverend.

Sitting in the audience during the vigilante's trial was Harper Lee, who had traveled from New York City to her native Alabama with the idea of writing her own In Cold Blood, the true-crime classic she had helped her friend Truman Capote research seventeen years earlier. Lee spent a year in town reporting, and many more years working on her own version of the case.

Now Casey Cep brings this story to life, from the shocking murders to the courtroom drama to the racial politics of the Deep South. At the same time, she offers a deeply moving portrait of one of the country's most beloved writers and her struggle with fame, success, and the mystery of artistic creativity.

Howard  Phillips  Lovecraft:  Dreamer  on  the  Nightside

Howard Phillips Lovecraft: Dreamer on the Nightside

$35.00
More Info
Arkham House, 1975. 1st edition; dust jacket protected; price not clipped; black cloth; binding tight; text clean. VG/VG
Hundred White Daffodils : Essays, the Akhmatova Translations, Newspaper Columns, Notes, Interviews, and One Poem (Used)

Hundred White Daffodils : Essays, the Akhmatova Translations, Newspaper Columns, Notes, Interviews, and One Poem (Used)

$12.50
More Info

"There is something in me that will not be snuffed out," Jane Kenyon told Bill Moyers in an interview. And there is no better proof of that than the overwhelming response her poetry generates. Kenyon's last collection, Otherwise: New & Selected Poems, remains a phenomenon: a best-seller that testifies to the impact Kenyon has had on the poetic landscape.

A Hundred White Daffodils is a companion volume that sheds illumination on a poet, and a woman, of great presence. It offers glimpses into a life cut too short and traces the influences that created Kenyon's poetic voice. The book includes Kenyon's translations of the great Russian poet Anna Akhmatova, and insights into how Kenyon chose her as a muse. It presents a variety of Kenyon's prose pieces about the writing life, her spiritual life, her country community, her gardens-- themes that readers will well remember from her poems. Transcripts of interviews provide further understanding as Kenyon faces her struggle with depression and the losses wrought by illness. Finally, there is an unfinished, visionary poem that makes one wonder what might have been if Kenyon had been given the chance to create more poetry.

Including an introduction by Kenyon's husband and fellow poet, Donald Hall, and a bibliography of her publications, A Hundred White Daffodils is a gift to all those devoted to Kenyon's poetry.

I Love Myself When I Am Laughing... And Then Again When I Am Looking Mean and Impressive

I Love Myself When I Am Laughing... And Then Again When I Am Looking Mean and Impressive

$19.95
More Info

The foundational, classic anthology that revived interest in the author of Their Eyes Were Watching God--one of the greatest writers of our time--and made her work widely available for a new generation of readers (Toni Morrison).

During her lifetime, Zora Neale Hurston was praised for her writing but condemned for her independence and audacity. Her work fell into obscurity until the 1970s, when Alice Walker rediscovered Hurston's unmarked grave and anthologized her writing in this groundbreaking collection for the Feminist Press.

I Love Myself When I Am Laughing... And Then Again When I Am Looking Mean and Impressive established Hurston as an intellectual leader for future generations of black writers. A testament to the power and breadth of Hurston's oeuvre, this edition--newly reissued for the Feminist Press's fiftieth anniversary--features a new preface by Walker.

Through Hurston, the soul of the black South gained one of its most articulate interpreters. --The New York Times