Historical Fiction

A Melancholy Union

A Melancholy Union

$13.99
More Info
Weaving meticulous research with imagination, Monica Weber Babcock gives voice to her great-great-grandparents Samuel and Julia, survivors of the Irish Potato Famine who emigrated to the United States in the 1850s. As they recount their lives through alternating chapters, they draw us into their turbulent world shaped by hunger, hope, poverty, love, sickness, and haunting memories of Civil War battlefields. Finally, Samuel and Julia each describe how, in struggling to care for their family, they make desperate decisions leading to unimagined consequences.
Barkskins

Barkskins

$20.00
$10.00
$10.00 - $20.00
More Info
Now a television mini-series airing on National Geographic May 2020!
A Washington Post Best Book of the Year & a New York Times Notable Book

From the Pulitzer Prize---winning author of The Shipping News and "Brokeback Mountain," comes the New York Times bestselling epic about the demise of the world's forests: "Barkskins is grand entertainment in the tradition of Dickens and Tolstoy...the crowning achievement of Annie Proulx's distinguished career, but also perhaps the greatest environmental novel ever written" (San Francisco Chronicle).

In the late seventeenth century two young Frenchmen, René Sel and Charles Duquet, arrive in New France. Bound to a feudal lord for three years in exchange for land, they become wood-cutters--barkskins. René suffers extraordinary hardship, oppressed by the forest he is charged with clearing. He is forced to marry a native woman and their descendants live trapped between two cultures. But Duquet runs away, becomes a fur trader, then sets up a timber business. Annie Proulx tells the stories of the descendants of Sel and Duquet over three hundred years--their travels across North America, to Europe, China, and New Zealand--the revenge of rivals, accidents, pestilence, Indian attacks, and cultural annihilation. Over and over, they seize what they can of a presumed infinite resource, leaving the modern-day characters face to face with possible ecological collapse.

"A stunning, bracing, full-tilt ride through three hundred years of US and Canadian history...with the type of full-immersion plot that keeps you curled in your chair, reluctant to stop reading" (Elle), Barkskins showcases Proulx's inimitable genius of creating characters who are so vivid that we follow them with fierce attention. "This is Proulx at the height of her powers as an irreplaceable American voice" (Entertainment Weekly, Grade A), and Barkskins "is an awesome monument of a book" (The Washington Post)--"the masterpiece she was meant to write" (The Boston Globe). As Anthony Doerr says, "This magnificent novel possesses the dark humor of The Shipping News and the social awareness of 'Brokeback Mountain.'"

Booth

Booth

$28.00
More Info
Best Book of the Year
Real Simple - AARP - USA Today

Longlisted for the 2022 Booker Prize

From the Man Booker finalist and bestselling author of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves comes an epic and intimate novel about the family behind one of the most infamous figures in American history: John Wilkes Booth.

In 1822, a secret family moves into a secret cabin some thirty miles northeast of Baltimore, to farm, to hide, and to bear ten children over the course of the next sixteen years. Junius Booth--breadwinner, celebrated Shakespearean actor, and master of the house in more ways than one--is at once a mesmerizing talent and a man of terrifying instability. One by one the children arrive, as year by year, the country draws frighteningly closer to the boiling point of secession and civil war.

As the tenor of the world shifts, the Booths emerge from their hidden lives to cement their place as one of the country's leading theatrical families. But behind the curtains of the many stages they have graced, multiple scandals, family triumphs, and criminal disasters begin to take their toll, and the solemn siblings of John Wilkes Booth are left to reckon with the truth behind the destructively specious promise of an early prophecy.

Booth is a startling portrait of a country in the throes of change and a vivid exploration of the ties that make, and break, a family.

Briefly, a Delicious Life

Briefly, a Delicious Life

$26.99
More Info
An unforgettable debut novel from an award-winning writer: a lively, daring ghost story about a teenage ghost who falls in love with a writer who doesn't know she exists.

In 1473, fourteen-year-old Blanca dies in a hilltop monastery in Mallorca. Nearly four hundred years later, when George Sand, her two children, and her lover Frederic Chopin arrive in the village, Blanca is still there: a spirited, funny, righteous ghost, she's been hanging around the monastery since her accidental death, spying on the monks and the townspeople and keeping track of her descendants.

Blanca is enchanted the moment she sees George, and the magical novel unfolds as a story of deeply felt, unrequited longing--the impossible love of a teenage ghost for a woman who can't see her and doesn't know she exists. As George and Chopin, who wear their unconventionality, in George's case, literally on their sleeves, find themselves in deepening trouble with the provincial, 19th-century villagers, Blanca watches helplessly and reflects on the circumstances of her own death (which involves an ill-advised love affair with a monk-in-training).

Charming, original, and emotionally moving, this is a surprisingly touching story about romantic fixation and a powerful meditation on creativity.

Burden of Remembrance

Burden of Remembrance

$13.95
More Info
World War II is finally over, her fiance Johnny Costello is safe, and Grace Larkin anticipates a blissful future with him. But her happiness is tainted by the unexpected reappearance of her father who abandoned Grace and her mother years before. As the years pass, family misfortunes and tensions escalate along with Johnny's PTSD, culminating in the disturbing revelation of long-buried secrets.
Changing of the Gods

Changing of the Gods

$13.99
More Info
Until the end of the Trojan War, Hades, God of the Underworld, had avoided interfering in the affairs of his fellow gods and mortal men. Fed up with their destructive behavior, Hades sets on a journey that will rock Olympus to its core.
Column of Fire

Column of Fire

$9.99
More Info
#1 New York Times Bestseller

"Absorbing . . . impossible to resist." --The Washington Post

As Europe erupts, can one young spy protect his queen? Ken Follett takes us deep into the treacherous world of powerful monarchs, intrigue, murder, and treason with his magnificent epic, A Column of Fire--the chronological latest in the Kingsbridge series, following The Pillars of the Earth, World Without End, and the prequel, The Evening and the Morning.

In 1558, the ancient stones of Kingsbridge Cathedral look down on a city torn apart by religious conflict. As power in England shifts precariously between Catholics and Protestants, royalty and commoners clash, testing friendship, loyalty, and love.

Ned Willard wants nothing more than to marry Margery Fitzgerald. But when the lovers find themselves on opposing sides of the religious conflict dividing the country, Ned goes to work for Princess Elizabeth. When she becomes queen, all Europe turns against England. The shrewd, determined young monarch sets up the country's first secret service to give her early warning of assassination plots, rebellions, and invasion plans. Over a turbulent half century, the love between Ned and Margery seems doomed as extremism sparks violence from Edinburgh to Geneva. Elizabeth clings to her throne and her principles, protected by a small, dedicated group of resourceful spies and courageous secret agents.

The real enemies, then as now, are not the rival religions. The true battle pitches those who believe in tolerance and compromise against the tyrants who would impose their ideas on everyone else--no matter what the cost.

Exciting and ambitious, and set during one of the most turbulent and revolutionary times in history, A Column of Fire will delight longtime fans of the Kingsbridge series and serve as the perfect introduction for readers new to Ken Follett.

Divisible Man

Divisible Man

$17.99
More Info

The media calls it a "miracle" when air charter pilot Will Stewart survives an aircraft in-flight breakup, but Will's miracle pales beside the stunning aftereffect of the crash. After waking in a hospital with no memory of the crash, Will finds himself experiencing a morphine-induced hallucination in which he is floating weightless six feet above the hospital bed, and his body has vanished. Things become even crazier when he deduces that it was not, in fact, a hallucination.


Barely on his feet again, Will begins carefully exploring and learning to control his ability to vanish, and the potentially dangerous way in which gravity ceases to have an effect on him in the vanished state. In the midst of all this, an NTSB and FAA investigation into the crash threatens to end his career as a pilot, and worse--Will and his police sergeant wife Andy must race to rescue an innocent child from a heinous abduction.


Will penetrates the dark world of urban gangs in the opioid trade while struggling to control a fantastic tool for justice--and praying it doesn't kill him first.


DIVISIBLE MAN is a page-turning thriller laced with humor and heart told from a perspective seen only in your wildest dreams.

Divisible Man - The Sixth Pawn

Divisible Man - The Sixth Pawn

$17.99
More Info

When the Essex County "Wedding of the Century" erupts in gunfire, a random shooting sends Will and Andy Stewart after a criminal element no one could have foreseen. A grisly discovery turns their pursuit into a mission to avenge innocent lives lost. Will explores the extraordinary aftereffect of surviving a devastating airplane crash - his ability to vanish - while Andy works a case obstructed by powerful people wielding the sinister influence of unlimited money in politics.


DIVISIBLE MAN - THE SIXTH PAWN takes you on a wild ride that pits Will, Andy and Essex County's best pilot, Pidge, against a murderer with a permanent perfect alibi. Gripping, yet spiced with humor, THE SIXTH PAWN proves that payback can be a beautiful bitch.


Author Howard Seaborne writes, flies airplanes and helicopters, and takes you on a twisted path in this, the second DIVISIBLE MAN novel.


The DIVISIBLE MAN Series in Order:

DIVISIBILE MAN is the origin story of Will Stewart and his ability to vanish.

DIVISIBLE MAN: THE SIXTH PAWN is the second heart-pounding thrill ride in the series.

DIVISIBLE MAN: THE SECOND GHOST goes to heart-stopping heights in high-rise Chicago.

DIVISIBLE MAN: THE SEVENTH STAR encounters the high cost of conspiracy believers.

DIVISIBLE MAN: TEN MAN CREW uncovers a long-forgotten Cold War mystery.

DIVISIBLE MAN: THE THIRD LIE puts Will and Andy at the heart of a national crime.

DIVISIBLE MAN: THREE NINES FINE launches a race against an attack on justice itself.

DIVISIBLE MAN - EIGHT BALL pits Will and Andy against a cold-blooded serial sniper.

DIVISIBLE MAN - ENGINE OUT & OTHER SHORT FLIGHTS - a short story collection.

DIVISIBLE MAN - NINE LIVES LOST a sweeps Will into the world of hoaxes and conspiracies.

Dynasty of Summer: Part One

Dynasty of Summer: Part One

$16.95
More Info