Mysteries & Thrillers

Flex

Flex
$7.99

FLEX Distilled magic in crystal form. The most dangerous drug in the world. Snort it, and you can create incredible coincidences to live the life of your dreams.

FLUX The backlash from snorting Flex. The universe hates magic and tries to rebalance the odds; maybe you survive the horrendous accidents the Flex inflicts, maybe you don't.

PAUL TSABO The obsessed bureaucromancer who's turned paperwork into a magical Beast that can rewrite rental agreements, conjure rented cars from nowhere, track down anyone who's ever filled out a form.

But when all of his formulaic magic can't save his burned daughter, Paul must enter the dangerous world of Flex dealers to heal her. Except he's never done this before - and the punishment for brewing Flex is army conscription and a total brain-wipe.

File Under Urban Fantasy [ Magic Pill - Firestarter - Bureaucramancy - The Flex & the Flux ]

ISBN/SKU: 
9780857664600
Publication Date: 
2015-03-03
Author: 
Publisher: 

Flux

product image
$7.99
Love something enough, and your obsession will punch holes through the laws of physics. That devotion creates unique magics: videogamemancers. Origamimancers. Culinomancers.
But when mancers battle, cities tremble
ALIYAH TSABO-DAWSON The world s most dangerous eight-year-old girl. Burned by a terrorist s magic, gifted strange powers beyond measure. She s furious that she has to hide her abilities from her friends, her teachers, even her mother and her temper tantrums can kill.
PAUL TSABO Bureaucromancer. Magical drug-dealer. Desperate father. He s gone toe-to-toe with the government s conscription squads of brain-burned Unimancers, and he ll lie to anyone to keep Aliyah out of their hands whether Aliyah likes it or not.
THE KING OF NEW YORK The mysterious power player hell-bent on capturing the two of them. A man packing a private army of illegal mancers.
Paul s family is the key to keep the King s crumbling empire afloat. But offering them paradise is the catalyst that inflames Aliyah s deadly rebellious streak
File Under Urban Fantasy [ Fiery Temper * Crystal Mess * King in His Empire * Flawless Victory! ]
"
ISBN/SKU: 
9780857664631
Publication Date: 
2015-10-06
Author: 
Publisher: 

Last to See Me

product image
$22.99
For fans of Lauren Oliver and Kazuo Ishiguro, The Last to See Me is a spellbinding American ghost story deftly weaving past and present into an unforgettable narrative about a young woman's fight for a life of her own--long after her life is over.

Over one hundred years ago, Emma Rose Finnis was born and died in the remote northern California town she now haunts. When she was alive, she was a lowly chambermaid and worse, a Finnis. Now, no one remembers her hardworking life and her grand dreams--because there are none left to remember. In a world where phantoms are considered "unclean," the spirits of her town have already been removed. All except Emma Rose.

But when a determined hunter arrives with instructions to extinguish her once and for all, Emma Rose refuses to be hounded from her haunt, the stately Lambry Mansion. She's earned her place and she'll keep it--even if it means waging a war on the living. After all, she's got nothing left to lose. The same might not be said for those who still enjoy the luxury of a breath . . .

ISBN/SKU: 
9781510720671
Publication Date: 
2017-09-05
Author: 

Lethal Little Lies

product image
$12.99
Times are tough in the newspaper business these days. In between staff cuts, furloughs and declining advertising dollars, Jubilant Falls Journal-Gazette editor Addison McIntyre hasn't got time to listen when candidate Rick Starrett claims his opponent Virginia Ferguson ran a dirty state senate campaign. Short on staff, time and patience, she can't waste time on sore losers-then Virginia Ferguson is shot. As she dies, she names Rick Starrett as the man who pulled the trigger. That gets Addison's attention. To further complicate things, Kay Henning, the wife of reporter Marcus Henning, has come up missing and believed to be in danger. Did she leave of her own accord or was she kidnapped? Is there something that ties these two events together? Who's telling the truth? And who is telling what could be lethal little lies? This is the third in Debra Gaskill's Jubilant Falls series.
ISBN/SKU: 
9781490312262
Publication Date: 
2013-05-01

Midwife's Tale

Midwife's Tale
$16.99

In the tradition of Arianna Franklin and C. J. Sansom comes Samuel Thomas's remarkable debut, The Midwife's Tale

It is 1644, and Parliament's armies have risen against the King and laid siege to the city of York. Even as the city suffers at the rebels' hands, midwife Bridget Hodgson becomes embroiled in a different sort of rebellion. One of Bridget's friends, Esther Cooper, has been convicted of murdering her husband and sentenced to be burnt alive. Convinced that her friend is innocent, Bridget sets out to find the real killer.

Bridget joins forces with Martha Hawkins, a servant who's far more skilled with a knife than any respectable woman ought to be. To save Esther from the stake, they must dodge rebel artillery, confront a murderous figure from Martha's past, and capture a brutal killer who will stop at nothing to cover his tracks. The investigation takes Bridget and Martha from the homes of the city's most powerful families to the alleyways of its poorest neighborhoods. As they delve into the life of Esther's murdered husband, they discover that his ostentatious Puritanism hid a deeply sinister secret life, and that far too often tyranny and treason go hand in hand.

ISBN/SKU: 
9781250038340
Publication Date: 
2013-12-10
Author: 
Publisher: 

Sad Case of Harpo Higgins (Used)

product image
$6.00
ISBN/SKU: 
9780749322281
Publication Date: 
1996-12-31
Author: 
Publisher: 

The Dead Key

The Dead Key
$15.95

2014 Winner — Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award — Grand Prize and Mystery & Thriller Fiction Winner

It’s 1998, and for years the old First Bank of Cleveland has sat abandoned, perfectly preserved, its secrets only speculated on by the outside world.

Twenty years before, amid strange staff disappearances and allegations of fraud, panicked investors sold Cleveland’s largest bank in the middle of the night, locking out customers and employees, and thwarting a looming federal investigation. In the confusion that followed, the keys to the vault’s safe-deposit boxes were lost.

In the years since, Cleveland’s wealthy businessmen kept the truth buried in the abandoned high-rise. The ransacked offices and forgotten safe-deposit boxes remain locked in time, until young engineer Iris Latch stumbles upon them during a renovation survey. What begins as a welcome break from her cubicle becomes an obsession as Iris unravels the bank’s sordid past. With each haunting revelation, Iris follows the looming shadow of the past deeper into the vault—and soon realizes that the key to the mystery comes at an astonishing price.

ISBN/SKU: 
9781477820872
Publication Date: 
2015-03-01

The Harlot's Tale

product image
$24.99

It is August, 1645, one year since York fell into Puritan hands. As the city suffers through a brutal summer heat, Bridget Hodgson and Martha Hawkins are drawn into a murder investigation more frightening than their last. In order to appease God's wrath--and end the heat-wave--the city's overlords have launched a brutal campaign to whip the city's sinners into godliness. But for someone in York, this is not enough. First a prostitute and her client are found stabbed to death, then a pair of adulterers are beaten and strangled. York's sinners have been targeted for execution.

Bridget and Martha--assisted once again by Will, Bridget's good-hearted nephew--race to find the killer even as he adds more bodies to his tally. The list of suspects is long: Hezekiah Ward, a fire and brimstone preacher new to York; Ward's son, Praise-God, whose intensity mirrors his father's; John Stubb, one of Ward's fanatic followers, whose taste for blood may not have been sated by his time in Parliament's armies. Or could the killer be closer to home? Will's brother Joseph is no stranger to death, and he shares the Wards' dreams of driving sin from the city.

To find the killer, Bridget, Martha, and Will must uncover the city's most secret sins, and hope against hope that the killer does not turn his attention in their direction, in The Harlot's Tale by Sam Thomas.

ISBN/SKU: 
9781250010780
Publication Date: 
2014-01-07
Author: 
Publisher: 

Too Lucky to Live

Too Lucky to Live
$15.95

Lonely and broke, Cleveland divorce-survivor Allie Harper believes all her problems would be solved if she could find a nice, smart, hot guy and enough money to get her car fixed.

The hot guy arrives first: he's in a crosswalk clutching a bag of groceries while a blonde in a Hummer is learning hard on her horn, sending the man's groceries and white cane flying. How has this woman missed that fact that the man is blind? From the curb, an outraged Allie jumps to his rescue, rebagging the groceries as well.

The money is in the bag. Literally - Thomas Bennington III, for that's who the handsome guy proves to be, has bought a MondoMegaJackpot ticket along with canned tomatoes. Allie takes him home and turns his groceries into dinner for two. Later that night, Tom hears the numbers announced. He's won. And he's less than thrilled. PhD Tom had gambled on the odds of losing (175 million to one) to prove a point to Rune, a kid from the projects he's befriended, that only losers buy lottery tickets. Instead, Rune, who'd helped pick the Mondo numbers, will share Tom's jackpot.

Allie and Tom grasp two things: one, they're hot for each other, and two, the ticket is a hot target, and now so are they. Every scheming weasel in Cleveland will be after Tom's millions. $550 of them. Yes, once the Mondo ball drops, it's game on with killers and kidnappers as players.

Allie and Tom need to get smarter about the threats all around them. On the run from one fancy hotel refuge to another and from one danger moment to the next, with only Allie s feisty landlady, Margo, and a couple of Cleveland cops for back-up, Allie and Tom evolve a strategy. First, turn in the ticket and claim the jackpot. Second, set up accounts to manage the millions. Third, stay alive to the end of the week...if they can.

Too Lucky to Live debuts a talented writer in Annie Hogsett and a couple in Allie and Tom, a modern Nick and Nora Charles, who can power a compelling, amusing series with an excellent future.

ISBN/SKU: 
9781464207884
Publication Date: 
2017-05-02
Author: 
Publisher: 

You Cannoli Die Once

product image
$7.99
In this entertaining and delightful mystery, an Italian chef and her cousins start their own investigation to clear their grandmother's name after she's arrested for murder.

At Miracolo Northern Italian restaurant, one can savor brilliantly seasoned veal saltimbocca, or luscious risotto alla milanese, but no cannoli. Never cannoli. Maria Pia Angelotta, the spirited seventy-six-year-old owner of the Philadelphia-area eatery that's been in her family for four generations, has butted heads with her head chef over the cannoli ban more than once. And when the head chef is your own granddaughter, things can get a little heated.

Fortunately, Eve Angelotta knows how to handle what her nonna dishes out. But when Maria Pia's boyfriend is found dead in Miracolo's kitchen, bludgeoned by a marble mortar, the question arises: Can a woman this fiery and stubborn over cream-filled pastry be capable of murder?

The police seem to think so, and they put the elder Angelotta behind bars, while Eve, sexy neighborhood attorney Joe Beck, and the entire Miracolo family-- parenti di sangue and otherwise--try every trick in the cookbook to unravel a tangle of lies and expose a killer.

ISBN/SKU: 
9781476709352
Publication Date: 
2013-05-28
Author: 
Publisher: