Fiction

product image

Adele

$16.00
More Info
"Fascinating . . . Adèle has glanced at the covenant of modern womanhood--the idea that you can have it all or should at least die trying--and detonated it." --The New York Times Book Review

"[A] fierce, uncanny thunderbolt of a book." --Entertainment Weekly

From the bestselling author of The Perfect Nanny--one of the 10 Best Books of the Year of The New York Times Book Review--her prizewinning novel about a sex-addicted woman in Paris

She wants only one thing: to be wanted.

Adèle appears to have the perfect life: She is a successful journalist in Paris who lives in a beautiful apartment with her surgeon husband and their young son. But underneath the surface, she is bored--and consumed by an insatiable need for sex.

Driven less by pleasure than compulsion, Adèle organizes her day around her extramarital affairs, arriving late to work and lying to her husband about where she's been, until she becomes ensnared in a trap of her own making. Suspenseful, erotic, and electrically charged, Adèle is a captivating exploration of addiction, sexuality, and one woman's quest to feel alive.

Adeline : A Novel of Virginia Woolf

Adeline : A Novel of Virginia Woolf

$14.95
More Info
"Daring . . . Vincent's psychological approach is intriguing." -- USA Today

"Vincent is a sensitive recorder of a mind's movements as it shifts in and out of inspiration, and as it fights before submitting to despair." -- New York Times Book Review

With poetic precision and psychological acuity, Norah Vincent's Adeline reimagines the events that brought Woolf to the banks of the River Ouse, offering us a denouement worthy of its protaganist. Channeling Virginia and Leonard Woolf, T. S. and Vivienne Eliot, Lytton Strachey, and Dora Carrington, Vincent lays bare their genius and their blind spots, their achievements and their failings, from the inside out. And haunting every page is Adeline, the name given to Virginia Stephen at birth, which becomes the source of Virginia's greatest consolation, and her greatest torment.

Intellectually and emotionally disarming, Adeline--a vibrant portrait of Woolf and her social circle, the storied Bloomsbury group, and a window into the darkness that both inspired and doomed them all--is a masterpiece in its own right by one of our most brilliant and daring writers.

"Skillfully rendered and emotionally insightful." -- Publishers Weekly

"[An] electrifyingly good novel . . . by a master of discomfort." -- New Statesman


Adventure  of  the  Unique  Dickensians

Adventure of the Unique Dickensians

$24.00
More Info

Mycroft & Moran, 1968. 1st edition; pamphlet; top corner bent. G+

ADVENTURE ZONE: HERE THERE BE

ADVENTURE ZONE: HERE THERE BE

$19.99
$9.99
$9.99 - $19.99
More Info

Welcome to the Adventure Zone!

SEE! The illustrated exploits of three lovable dummies set loose in a classic fantasy adventure!

READ! Their journey from small-time bodyguards to world-class artifact hunters!

MARVEL! At the sheer metafictional chutzpah of a graphic novel based on a story created in a podcast where three dudes and their dad play a tabletop role playing game in real time!

Join Taako the elf wizard, Merle the dwarf cleric, and Magnus the human warrior for an adventure they are poorly equipped to handle AT BEST, guided ("guided") by their snarky DM, in a graphic novel that, like the smash-hit podcast it's based on, will tickle your funny bone, tug your heartstrings, and probably pants you if you give it half a chance.

With endearingly off-kilter storytelling from master goofballs Clint McElroy and the McElroy brothers, and vivid, adorable art by Carey Pietsch, The Adventure Zone: Here There be Gerblins is the comics equivalent of role-playing in your friend's basement at 2am, eating Cheetos and laughing your ass off as she rolls critical failure after critical failure.

Adventures of Gremlin

Adventures of Gremlin

$17.95
More Info
Aesthetica

Aesthetica

$27.00
More Info
In a debut novel as radiant as it is caustic, a former influencer confronts her past--and takes inventory of the damages that underpin the surface-glamour of social media.

At 19, she was an Instagram celebrity. Now, at 35, she works behind the cosmetic counter at the "black and white store," peddling anti-aging products to women seeking physical and spiritual transformation. She too is seeking rebirth. She's about to undergo the high-risk, elective surgery Aesthetica(TM), a procedure that will reverse all her past plastic surgery procedures, returning her, she hopes, to a truer self. Provided she survives the knife.

But on the eve of the surgery, her traumatic past resurfaces when she is asked to participate in the public takedown of her former manager/boyfriend, who has rebranded himself as a paragon of "woke" masculinity in the post-#MeToo world. With the hours ticking down to her surgery, she must confront the ugly truth about her experiences on and off the Instagram grid.

Propulsive, dark, and moving, Aesthetica is a Veronica for the age of "Instagram face," delivering a fresh, nuanced examination of feminism, #MeToo, and mother-daughter relationships, all while confronting our collective addiction to followers, filters, and faux realities.

Affinity

Affinity

$17.00
More Info
"Gothic tale, psychological study, puzzle narrative...This is gripping, astute fiction that feeds the mind and senses."--The Seattle Times

An upper-class woman recovering from a suicide attempt, Margaret Prior has begun visiting the women's ward of Millbank prison, Victorian London's grimmest jail, as part of her rehabilitative charity work. Amongst Millbank's murderers and common thieves, Margaret finds herself increasingly fascinated by on apparently innocent inmate, the enigmatic spiritualist Selina Dawes. Selina was imprisoned after a séance she was conducting went horribly awry, leaving an elderly matron dead and a young woman deeply disturbed. Although initially skeptical of Selina's gifts, Margaret is soon drawn into a twilight world of ghosts and shadows, unruly spirits and unseemly passions, until she is at last driven to concoct a desperate plot to secure Selina's freedom, and her own.

As in her noteworthy deput, Tipping the Velvet, Sarah Waters brilliantly evokes the sights and smells of a moody and beguiling nineteenth-century London, and proves herself yet again a storyteller, in the words of the New York Times Book Review, of "startling power."

After Annie

After Annie

$30.00
More Info
"A wise and heartfelt novel of connection, of loss and love and the power of both."--Amy Bloom, author of In Love

Anna Quindlen's trademark wisdom on family, friendship, and the ties that bind us are at the center of this novel about the power of love to transcend loss and triumph over adversity, by the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Still Life with Bread Crumbs and One True Thing.

"A new Anna Quindlen novel is always cause for celebration. After Annie might just be my favorite one yet. It's a beautiful and deeply moving story about love, loss, friendship, marriage, family, and community from one of our wisest chroniclers of modern life. I treasured every page."--J. Courtney Sullivan, author of Friends and Strangers

When Annie Brown dies suddenly, her husband, her children, and her closest friend are left to find a way forward without the woman who has been the lynchpin of all their lives. Bill is overwhelmed without his beloved wife, and Annemarie wrestles with the bad habits her best friend had helped her overcome. And Ali, the eldest of Annie's children, has to grow up overnight, to care for her younger brothers and even her father and to puzzle out for herself many of the mysteries of adult life.

Over the course of the next year what saves them all is Annie, ever-present in their minds, loving but not sentimental, caring but nobody's fool, a voice in their heads that is funny and sharp and remarkably clear. The power she has given to those who loved her is the power to go on without her. The lesson they learn is that no one beloved is ever truly gone.

Written in Quindlen's emotionally resonant voice and with her deep and generous understanding of people, After Annie is about hope, and about the unexpected power of adversity to change us in profound and indelible ways.

AFTER LAMBANA: A GRAPHIC NOVEL

AFTER LAMBANA: A GRAPHIC NOVEL

$16.99
More Info
**Included in the Top 50 Best New Comics for Adults in 2022 by The New York Public Library**

Immerse yourself in a fantasy world of Filipino myth, magic, and supernatural suspense!

Lambana--the realm of supernatural fairies known as Diwata--has fallen, and the Magic Prohibition Act has been enacted. To add to his troubles, there's something wrong with Conrad's heart and only magic can prolong his life. He teams up with Ignacio, a well-connected friend who promises to hook him up with the Diwata and their magical treatments--a quest that's not only risky but highly illegal!

On the shadowy, noir-tinged streets of Manila, multiple realities co-exist and intertwine as the two friends seek a cure for the magical malady. Slinky sirens and roaming wraith-like spirits populate a parallel world ruled by corruption and greed, which Conrad must enter to find the cure he seeks. He has little idea of the creatures he will encounter and the truths to be revealed along the way. Will Lambana spill its secrets and provide the healing balm Conrad needs? Or will he perish in the process?

Fans of Neil Gaiman, Emil Ferris and Charles Burns will love this new graphic novel!

AFTER LAND, VOLUME 1: THE DREAM YOU DREAM ALONE IS JUST A DREAM

AFTER LAND, VOLUME 1: THE DREAM YOU DREAM ALONE IS JUST A DREAM

$19.99
More Info

Terrifying, persuasive, and aesthetically delightful. --Nick Diamonds, Islands, The Unicorns

Chris Taylor is a visionary and a prophet. He is in our reality to teach us how to see the world in more meaningful ways. After Land is a demonstration of his genius and is a gift for humanity from beyond the membrane of our earthy perceptions. It is elegant, bold, beautiful, and unlike anything else. --Benjamin Marra, Terror Assaulter (O.M.W.O.T.)

The debut graphic novel from illustrator, designer, and musician Chris Taylor. A science-fiction soap opera featuring the exploits of a no-nonsense detective named NONO who is a composite of two females named JO and DO. JO has the mysterious ability to ingest the milk from the Madeleine Flower and enter an ethereal realm known as PURE INTUITION where she can spy on the unconscious minds of humanity. JO shares this information with DO and together, as NONO, they sell it to the highest bidder in the cloud.

Chris Taylor is a Canadian-born artist, musician, and writer with a peripatetic studio called WERK AAN ZEE. He has lived in Montreal, New York, and Amsterdam doing creative work for advertising agencies. His illustrations have been seen in Vice Magazine and ad campaigns for the Rock Band video game. He currently lives in Los Angeles, California.