Cookbooks

Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat

Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat

$37.50
More Info
Now a Netflix series!

New York Times Bestseller and Winner of the 2018 James Beard Award for Best General Cookbook and multiple IACP Cookbook Awards

Named one of the Best Books of 2017 by: NPR, BuzzFeed, The Atlantic, The Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Rachel Ray Every Day, San Francisco Chronicle, Vice Munchies, Elle.com, Glamour, Eater, Newsday, Minneapolis Star Tribune, The Seattle Times, Tampa Bay Times, Tasting Table, Modern Farmer, Publishers Weekly, and more.

A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared "America's next great cooking teacher" by Alice Waters.

In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary, yet simple, philosophy. Master the use of just four elements--Salt, which enhances flavor; Fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; Acid, which balances flavor; and Heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food--and anything you cook will be delicious. By explaining the hows and whys of good cooking, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will teach and inspire a new generation of cooks how to confidently make better decisions in the kitchen and cook delicious meals with any ingredients, anywhere, at any time.

Echoing Samin's own journey from culinary novice to award-winning chef, Salt, Fat Acid, Heat immediately bridges the gap between home and professional kitchens. With charming narrative, illustrated walkthroughs, and a lighthearted approach to kitchen science, Samin demystifies the four elements of good cooking for everyone. Refer to the canon of 100 essential recipes--and dozens of variations--to put the lessons into practice and make bright, balanced vinaigrettes, perfectly caramelized roast vegetables, tender braised meats, and light, flaky pastry doughs.

Featuring 150 illustrations and infographics that reveal an atlas to the world of flavor by renowned illustrator Wendy MacNaughton, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will be your compass in the kitchen. Destined to be a classic, it just might be the last cookbook you'll ever need.

With a foreword by Michael Pollan.

The  Complete  Jam  Cupboard,  Giving  the  Special  Virtues  of  Each  Preserve
The  Complete  Jam  Cupboard,  Giving  the  Special  Virtues  of  Each  Preserve
The  Complete  Jam  Cupboard,  Giving  the  Special  Virtues  of  Each  Preserve
The  Complete  Jam  Cupboard,  Giving  the  Special  Virtues  of  Each  Preserve
The  Complete  Jam  Cupboard,  Giving  the  Special  Virtues  of  Each  Preserve

The Complete Jam Cupboard, Giving the Special Virtues of Each Preserve

$295.00
More Info

Mrs. C.F. Leyel, familiarly known as Hilda Leyel (1880-1957), was an expert herbalist who founded the Society of Herbalists in England in 1927, as well as a chain of herbalist stores called the "Culpeper Shops." She wrote The Magic of Herbs (1926) and many other books on herbs, such as Herbal Delights (1937), Compassionate Herbs (1946), Elixirs of Life (1948), Hearts-Ease (1949), Green Medicine (1952), and Cinquefoil (1957). In addition, she wrote cookbooks, such as this charming book on jams. 

First edition in scarce dust jacket; dj in protective mylar cover; dj has one tiny tear at bottom of front cover and small tear at top of back cover. Reddish brown boards with design and lettering stamped in black on cover and spine; binding tight; text clean. VG/VG

product image

The 7 Day Vegan Challenge

$20.99
More Info
In 7 Day Vegan Challenge, Bettina Campolucci Bordi shows that with a little bit of planning, following a vegan diet has never been so effortless, accessible and fun.

Bettina uses easy-to-find, affordable ingredients to produce fast, tasty meals that won't leave you feeling hungry or like you're missing out. Kickstart your morning with Banoffee oats or Breakfast burritos, fill your lunchbox with a Tokyo hummus sandwich or a Quick laksa, and finish your day with Kimchi fried rice or Cauliflower steak, with a Key lime pie for dessert. Handy icons indicate if something can be batch-cooked, if it contains nuts, how long it will keep in the fridge and if it can be frozen.
This is an inclusive book that embraces everyone, from full-on vegans to those who know it makes good sense to eat more veg.

Inside you'll find:

- Over 70 inventive recipes, including nut- and gluten-free options
- Convenient meal planners to suit your lifestyle
- Weekly shopping lists
- Tips for batch cooking, freezing and making ahead

The Cooking Gene

The Cooking Gene

$16.99
More Info

2018 James Beard Foundation Book of the Year 2018 James Beard Foundation Book Award Winner inWriting Nominee for the 2018 Hurston/Wright Legacy Award in Nonfiction #75 on The Root100 2018

A renowned culinary historian offers a fresh perspective on our most divisive cultural issue, race, in this illuminating memoir of Southern cuisine and food culture that traces his ancestry--both black and white--through food, from Africa to America and slavery to freedom.

Southern food is integral to the American culinary tradition, yet the question of who owns it is one of the most provocative touch points in our ongoing struggles over race. In this unique memoir, culinary historian Michael W. Twitty takes readers to the white-hot center of this fight, tracing the roots of his own family and the charged politics surrounding the origins of soul food, barbecue, and all Southern cuisine.

From the tobacco and rice farms of colonial times to plantation kitchens and backbreaking cotton fields, Twitty tells his family story through the foods that enabled his ancestors' survival across three centuries. He sifts through stories, recipes, genetic tests, and historical documents, and travels from Civil War battlefields in Virginia to synagogues in Alabama to Black-owned organic farms in Georgia.

As he takes us through his ancestral culinary history, Twitty suggests that healing may come from embracing the discomfort of the Southern past. Along the way, he reveals a truth that is more than skin deep--the power that food has to bring the kin of the enslaved and their former slaveholders to the table, where they can discover the real America together.

Illustrations by Stephen Crotts

The Essential New York Times Cookbook

The Essential New York Times Cookbook

$55.00
More Info

Ten years after the phenomenal success of her once-in-a-generation cookbook, former New York Times food editor Amanda Hesser returns with an updated edition for a new wave of home cooks. She has added 120 new but instantly iconic dishes to her mother lode of more than a thousand recipes, including Samin Nosrat's Sabzi Polo (Herbed Rice with Tahdig), Todd Richards's Fried Catfish with Hot Sauce, and J. Kenji López-Alt's Cheesy Hasselback Potato Gratin. Devoted Times subscribers as well as newcomers to the paper's culinary trove will also find scores of timeless gems such as Purple Plum Torte, David Eyre's Pancake, Pamela Sherrid's Summer Pasta, and classics ranging from 1940s Caesar Salad to modern No-Knead Bread. Hesser has tested and adapted each of the recipes, and she highlights her go-to favorites with wit and warmth. As Saveur declared, this is a "tremendously appealing collection of recipes that tells the story of American cooking."

The Jewish Cookbook

The Jewish Cookbook

$49.95
More Info

A rich trove of contemporary global Jewish cuisine, featuring hundreds of stories and recipes for home cooks everywhere

The Jewish Cookbook is an inspiring celebration of the diversity and breadth of this venerable culinary tradition. A true fusion cuisine, Jewish food evolves constantly to reflect the changing geographies and ingredients of its cooks. Featuring more than 400 home-cooking recipes for everyday and holiday foods from the Middle East to the Americas, Europe, Asia, and Africa - as well as contemporary interpretations by renowned chefs including Yotam Ottolenghi, Michael Solomonov, and Alex Raij - this definitive compendium of Jewish cuisine introduces readers to recipes and culinary traditions from Jewish communities the world over, and is perfect for anyone looking to add international tastes to their table.

Vegan Made Kids Recipes Children Will Love

Vegan Made Kids Recipes Children Will Love

$19.99
More Info
Why We Cook: Women on Food, Identity, and Connection

Why We Cook: Women on Food, Identity, and Connection

$24.95
More Info

Join the conversation . . .

With more than one hundred women restaurateurs, activists, food writers, professional chefs, and home cooks--all of whom are changing the world of food. Featuring essays, profiles, recipes, and more, Why We Cook is curated and illustrated by author and artist Lindsay Gardner, whose visual storytelling gifts bring nuance and insight into their words and their work, revealing the power of food to nourish, uplift, inspire curiosity, and effect change.

"Prepare to be blown away by Lindsay Gardner's illustrations. Her gift as an artist is part of this fluid conversation about food with some of the most intriguing women, and you'll never want it to end. Why We Cook highlights our voices and varied perspectives in and out of the kitchen and empowers us to reclaim our place in it." --Carla Hall, chef, television personality, and author of Carla Hall's Soul Food

"Why We Cook is a wonderful, heartwarming antidote to these trying times, and a powerful testament to unity through food." --Anita Lo, chef and author of Solo and Cooking Without Borders

"This book is a beautiful object, but it's also much more than that: an essay collection, a trove of recipes, a guidebook for how we might use food to fight for and further justice. The women in its pages remind us that it's in the kitchen, in the field, and around the table that we do our most vital work as human beings--and that, now more than ever, we must." --Molly Wizenberg, author of A Homemade Life and The Fixed Stars